John Thornley Spirit of MG Award

John Thornley “Spirit of MG” Award is given at the Annual Convention yearly to the person displaying the spirit and enthusiasm of MG.

This award is a framed original oil painting by Dennis Wharf of the first works MGB GT to compete in an international event, LBL 591E was placed in the prototype class of competition at Sebring. The painting was a gift to NAMGBR from the MG Car Club, MGB Register in England, presented by John Watson, of Abingdon, England to the North American MGB Register at MG96 in Indianapolis, IN, it was decided to be given on loan to the current recipient with the understanding that it is their responsibility to have the print at the next year’s annual convention to be presented to the next recipient.

At that time a plaque with a reproduction of the painting is created and given to the last year’s recipient of this honor, with their name and dates on it. This plaque is theirs to keep.

The award recipient is chosen by the NAMGBR executive from the input from coordinators, registrars, and members.

2019 – Alan & Laura Magnuson, Centennial, Colorado

2018 – David Mullen, Newburgh, IN

2017 – Jennifer Orum, West Vancouver, BC

2016 – Elvin & Janet Davis, MI & Zelda Davis, CA

2015 – Roger & Shirley Goebbert, Huntley, IL

2014 Richard Liddick, Glen Arm, MD

2013 Jai Deagan, Eaton Rapids, MI

2012 Oscar & Diana Gonzales of Huntly, IL

2011 Bruce & Connie Wyckoff of Zeeland, MI

2010 Richard & Carol Brown, Bloomington, IL

2009 Larry & Barb Henle of MN

2008 John Twist, Ada, MI

2007 Charles and Kim de Bourbon, Delaware Water Gap, PA

2006 Ken Smith, Goleta, CA

2005 Don Peery, Edmond, OK

2004 Rick & Jean Ingram, St. Joseph, IL

2003 The Looft Family of Wilmington, OH

2002 Leonard and Deborah Fortin, Greely, ON

2001 Wayne Kube, Plano, TX

2000 Tony and Lynne Burgess, Westerville, OH

1999 Tom Boscarino, Asheville, NC

1998 Don Bridger, Jonesboro, AR

1997 Kim Tonry, Downers Grove, IL

1996 Jerome Rosenberger, Benton, IL